skip to main content
Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis


Nominate a promising researcher to give the 2018 Labelle Lecture

20 Apr 2018

The Labelle Lectureship Committee is seeking nominations for a promising junior health services researcher — a rising star in the field — to be this year's Labelle Lecturer

The Labelle Lectureship Series, which marks its 27th anniversary in 2018, is held each October to honour Roberta Labelle, one of CHEPA’s founding members. Her death in 1991 was unexpected and occurred when broad recognition for her research in health economics was just starting to emerge. CHEPA and what is now the Department of Health Research, Methods, Evidence and Impact (HEI), collaborated on establishing the annual lectureship in her memory.

The Labelle Lecturer can be from any country (including Canada). The ideal candidate has the following characteristics:

1. Is early in his/her career development (assistant or early associate level), and shows tremendous promise based on early research accomplishments.

2. Is conducting research on a topic that challenges existing methods or accepted ideas in health research.

3. Is capable of delivering a high-quality lecture that will be of interest to a multi-disciplinary audience of health researchers and decision-makers.

4. Can spend one to two days at McMaster University to: 

• present a one-hour lecture (followed by a reception) based on his/her research.
• meet with interested faculty, staff and students for a half-day.
• attend a Labelle dinner with individuals from within and outside McMaster University.

Please submit nominations by May 15, 2018, to Emmanuel Guindon, Chair of the Labelle Lectureship Committee, by emailing and include the following information regarding the nominee: 

• Full name, current position, link to their faculty page, and, when possible, an updated CV.

• A brief paragraph describing the topic on which you believe the nominated individual could present the Labelle Lecture.

Recent Labelle Lecturers include Dean Spears, Antoine Boivin, Katy Kozhimannil, Onil Bhattacharyya, David Stuckler, Irfan Dhalla and Michael Law. For a full list of past Labelle Lecturers, click here.

This Call for Nominations will close on May 15, 2018. For more information, contact Emmanuel Guindon.

Please send questions, comments or suggestions to the Webmaster ( ).
Please review our Copyright Disclaimer policy

Interactive Marketing | Cubicle Fugitive